Obtaining a Marriage License
Current Marriage License Procedure*
*Marriage Ceremonies at Judicial Center by appointment ~ please make appointment with Judge before obtaining your marriage license.
Press Release - Reopening of Courthouse Offices Notice
COVID-19 RESTRICTIONS FOR COUNTY CLERKS OFFICE
(until further notice)
Mask for the public is required
Limit to one person at counter at a time
Vital Records - No in person requests – Online or via USPS ONLY
Marriage or Civil Union License – online information and by Appointment ONLY
Genealogical Searches – NO in person searching until further notice
Tax Redemptions - NO Cash - Check or Money Order ONLY
WHERE TO APPLY
If you are going to be married in Ogle County, both parties must appear at the County Clerk’s Office located at the Courthouse in Oregon, IL. Persons obtaining a marriage license in Ogle County MAY NOT use the license in any other County. The license must be obtained at least one day prior to being used. The license is void sixty (60) days after the effective date. The fee for the license is $40.00.
QUALIFICATIONS FOR RESIDENTS OF ILLINOIS
In order to be married in Illinois without parental consent you must be at least 18 years of age. If you are 16 or 17 years of age, BOTH PARENTS must sign a parental consent form in the County Clerk’s Office at the time you apply for the license. If it is not possible for the parents to sign in this office, it may be done before the County Clerk in the parent’s County. If a parent is deceased, a death certificate or proof of guardianship, or court order waiving consent must be presented.
PROOF OF AGE
Valid Photo ID
Certified Copy of Birth Certificate (raised seal – no photocopies)
QUALIFICATIONS FOR NON-RESIDENTS
Non-residents CANNOT obtain a marriage license if said marriage would be void in their State.
If either party has a previous marriage the following information is REQUIRED:
- Date of Divorce/Death (exact mm/dd/yyyy)
- County and State where papers are filed
PERSONS WHO MAY NOT MARRY
Blood relative, down to and including first cousins MAY NOT marry under the laws of the State of Illinois unless they are both over 50 years of age. However, a marriage between first cousins is not prohibited if either party submits a certificate signed by a licensed physician stating that the party is permanently and irreversibly sterile.
RETURN OF THE LICENSE
The license must be returned to the County Clerk’s Office by the officiant of the ceremony within ten (10) days after the date of marriage.
MARRIAGE BY A CIRCUIT JUDGE
If you wish to be married by a Judge, you may make your own arrangements prior to the ceremony by calling:
- 815-732-1163 for Bunny Miller
- 815-732-1164 for Tonya Aurand
A fee is paid in the Circuit Clerk’s Office if a Judge performs your ceremony. The Circuit Clerk’s Office and Judge’s Chambers are located at the Judicial Center.
OBTAINING A CERTIFIED COPY
A certified copy of your marriage license may be obtained from the County Clerk’s Office. Include the bride and groom’s name and date of marriage. The fee is $22.00 for the first copy and $4.00 for each additional copy ordered at the same time. Click here to order
If the bride is a registered voter, she must re-register to vote under her new name. In the case of address change, both must change their address with the County Clerk or Deputy Registrar.
MONDAY THROUGH FRIDAY – 8:30 A.M. TO 4:30 P.M.
CLOSED SATURDAYS, SUNDAYS AND HOLIDAYS