2021 Scholarship Application and Information

Our 2021 Scholarship is now open! Click HERE to download

The Foundation for Focus House and Community Programming announces 4 scholarship opportunities for students in Ogle County. 
The F. Lawrence Lenz Scholarship Fund was established in April, 2003 by his family following his death.  As an Ogle County Circuit Judge, Judge F. Lawrence Lenz elected to be the juvenile court Judge.  In his capacity as juvenile Judge, he was one of the instrumental supporters of the opening of Focus House in 1975.  From the bench he believed in the value of having community based programs and was an advocate of Focus House until his death. One F. Lawrence Lenz Scholarship will be awarded for $500.00.

The LaVerne & Margaret Franklin Adams Scholarship Fund was established in May of 2002 following Mr. Adam's death.  A longtime resident of Ogle County, Mr. LaVerne Adams sat on the Ogle County Board from 1972 until 2002.  At the time Focus House was established in 1975, Mr. Adams was appointed and served as the chairperson of the county committee that over saw the operation of the program.  Mrs. Margaret Franklin Adams was also very dedicated to our community and the youth at Focus House. Their family added to the scholarship in LaVerne's name when Margaret passed away in 2020, to honor the bequest she left. They both had a great commitment to the youth of Ogle County and the Focus House program. One LaVerne & Margaret Franklin Adams Scholarship will be awarded for $500.00

Foundation for Focus House General Scholarship - The Foundation for Focus House and Community Programming exists to receive and administer contributions, gifts, memorials and bequests for the exclusive purpose of enhancing programming at Focus House and offering community programs that enhance, enrich and supplement individuals involved in Court Services.  Two Foundation for Focus House General Scholarships will be awarded for $500.00 each.

 Applicants must be Ogle County residents that are graduating from high school or already enrolled or attending a post secondary institution. The scholarships focus on positive impact or personal growth that the applicants have made in their lives or in their community. Past recipients have enrolled in a variety of educational programs including: 4-year college, 2-year community college, CDL training, CNA training, and other vocational programs. No program is too big or too small to be considered. The Scholarship Committee looks forward to reading about successful youth in Ogle County.

Applications can be requested by email - contact Jeni Hardin jhardin@oglecounty.org or call (815) 562-5881 ext 433. The deadline for the application is April 15, 2021. Applications postmarked after this date will not be considered.

Winners will be notified by May 1, 2021.

to top